Easy and Delicious Yogurt Dishes

Platter with Pat's Granola, yogurt and seasonal fruits makes an easy meal. Thanks Rittman Orchards for these delicious cherries.

January 1st you had every intention of eating better. However, you're dragging from last year and are still hungry. Want something fast, nutritious and delicious? Think yogurt. I know, you might be thinking yogurt. How can that satisfy my hunger? Yogurt is great for snacking, breakfast, even for dessert. Here's a few meal and recipe ideas that can help you stop a serious case of the hangries.

 

Yogurt smoothies are a snap to fix. In a blender, mix 1 cup milk of your choice, a handful of berries, 1 frozen banana, a dash of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon of honey and 1 cup of ice. Blend until smooth. You can also add a teaspoon of ground flax seed or protein powder for an added nutrition boost.

In a bowl or parfait. Layer your favorite yogurt with fruit (I'm partial to berries) and Pat's Granola. It's one of the easiest meals to prepare and it's always delicious. Drizzle with a little honey or maple syrup.

In a Fruitwich. Instead of a bagel or piece of toast, spread a little yogurt on a cut piece of fruit (apples, pears, peach or plum halves work well), sprinkle with your favorite Pat's Granola.

In a French 'toast' tortilla wrap. In a small bowl mix 1 egg, 1/4 cup milk of your choice, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon of ginger or nutmeg. Heat a small skillet on medium heat to which you add 1 teaspoon butter until melted. Dip 2 whole wheat whole wheat tortillas in egg mixture (like you'd do when making French toast) and place in skillet. Cook the tortillas until they are golden brown--about 2 minutes. Top with yogurt and fresh fruit. Roll up and enjoy. Kids love this wrap and roll meal!

 

Pat Bennett is the founder and President of Pat's Granola, a Cleveland based food company. Pat's Granola is sold online at www.patsgranola.com and is also available at several Northeast Ohio businesses including:

Troubadour Coffee Roasters www.troubadourcoffeeroasters.com

Sports and Spine Physical Therapy www.sportspine.com

Local Flavors Shoppe www.localflavors.net

Rittman Orchards and Farm Market www.rittmanorchards.com

Cleveland Hopkins International Airport www.clevelandairport.com

Locle Box www.loclebox.com

Market Wagon Northeast Ohio www.marketwagon.com

Made Cleveland www.madecleveland.com

Mister Brisket www.misterbrisket.com

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published