Blooming Where Planted

I’ve often said that I bloom wherever planted, even it appears I’m in the weeds or a thorny situation. Most of the time it’s served me well, even though it may have been uncomfortable. 

Some of my best laid plans have crashed and burned over the years. However, in retrospect, the change in plans may have been unexpected blessings. 

Last year tested the mettle for so many, yet, it taught us that each day is precious and shouldn’t be wasted. Every day I woke up (gratefully) thinking what was happening and how can we navigate safely through so much uncertainty. The answer lay in having patience, slowing down and rethinking ways to make life richer and better for ourselves and those around us. Also helped to have faith that we’d make it past an unthinkable time in history.

Much like mint which seems to thrive year after year and often takes over a garden, I’ve managed to survive and learn a few key takeaways from my garden. 

🪴 Flowers fade, but memories are long lasting.

🪴 Planting roots in an unfamiliar place may grow something unexpected and wonderful.

🪴 Prune dead leaves as they inhibit new growth.

🪴 Always cultivate and feed the soil. Strong foundations matter.

🪴 Share the bounty from what you grow. It will give back to you in ways you can’t imagine.

This year I’ll be planting tomatoes, a few herbs and some flowers in a community garden I’m sharing with a neighbor. Thanks to my friend Angela of Cavottas Nursery and Garden Center in Cleveland for her large selection of tomatoes.

Looking forward to (fingers and toes crossed) the harvest. 

 

 

Pat Bennett is the founder and President of Pat's Granola, a Cleveland based food and lifestyle company. Pat's Granola is sold online at www.patsgranola.com and is also available at several Northeast Ohio businesses including:

Troubadour Coffee Roasters www.troubadourcoffeeroasters.com

Sports and Spine Physical Therapy www.sportspine.com

Local Flavors Shoppe www.localflavors.net

Rittman Orchards and Farm Market www.rittmanorchards.com

Cleveland Hopkins International Airport www.clevelandairport.com

Locle Box www.loclebox.com

Market Wagon Northeast Ohio www.marketwagon.com

Made Cleveland www.madecleveland.com

Mister Brisket www.misterbrisket.com

Nature's Oasis Lakewood www.naturesoasis.com

Happy Cows Group Share Happy Cows Group Share 

The Corner at The Van Aken District

 

Hear Pat's story on Food Founders Podcast. 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published