Pat Learns to Make Vanilla Sugar

I ordered vanilla pods from a friend last year and tucked them away in my spice cabinet. My intention was to make vanilla sugar which my sister Susan raved about. It's now May and I've finally gotten around to making the sugar, with Susans help.

After watching her make the sugar, which was a simple process, I wished I'd done it sooner.

We used four whole pods, cut into thirds. The pods are then split open lengthwise with a very sharp knife to reveal the actual beans which are tiny. Susan was very precise in how we cut the pods and did the prep. She actually scolded me (gently) a few times when I attempted to deviate from her process!

Scrape the beans off the pod with a sharp knife or the tip of a spoon (I prefer the spoon). Place the beans and cut pods in a jar with two cups of granulated sugar. Cover with a tight fitting lid and give it a shake. We used a small canning jar which comfortably accommodated two cups of sugar.

Place the jar in a dark place. Give it a shake weekly. You can use the vanilla sugar after thirty days, however, the longer you leave the pods in, the more flavorful the sugar becomes. Substitute this sugar when a recipe calls for sugar and vanilla extract.

Here's us making homemade marshmallows recently while Zooming. Our friend Pam taught us and another friend Hilary joined the marshmallow making virtual party. I could have dusted the marshmallows in the vanilla sugar...if only I'd make it sooner! :)

Need other ideas? Check this out.

What else can you do with vanilla beans?

 

Pat Bennett is the founder and President of Pat's Granola, a Cleveland based food company. Pat's Granola is sold online at www.patsgranola.com and is also available at several Northeast Ohio businesses including:

Troubadour Coffee Roasters www.troubadourcoffeeroasters.com

Sports and Spine Physical Therapy www.sportspine.com

Local Flavors Shoppe www.localflavors.net

Rittman Orchards and Farm Market www.rittmanorchards.com

Cleveland Hopkins International Airport www.clevelandairport.com

Locle Box www.loclebox.com

Market Wagon Northeast Ohio www.marketwagon.com

Made Cleveland www.madecleveland.com

Mister Brisket www.misterbrisket.com

Nature's Oasis Lakewood www.naturesoasis.com

Happy Cows Group Share Happy Cows Group Share 

The Corner at The Van Aken District

 

Hear Pat's story on Food Founders Podcast.

 

 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published