WKYC interview November 2017

Who says you can't start a new career when you're 50 or older? A local Northeast Ohio program, Encore Entrepreneur Initiative, is helping women set their dreams in motion at a time when many would rather slow down.

I was invited to participate in the first cohort of this program in the fall of 2017 and learned the basics of setting up a business. It was a little overwhelming, at first, however, I was encouraged by the other members in the cohort as well as the facilitators. One of the most important things I learned was it wasn't enough to have just a good product. Food businesses have a notoriously high fail rate due to any number of factors...I didn't want to be one of these statistics.

Every week I'd race across town after frantically dashing out of my office (which most days wasn't possible) to class. Much of what I'd heard wasn't new, however, what resonated was belief that if I really wanted to do this, I could get help.

As the oldest member in the cohort, I felt that if I was going to start a business, I'd better not waste any more time. As my Dad used to say "put the pedal to the metal" to accelerate. 

I followed up this course by enrolling in the Scratchmade Incubator program hosted by the Small Business Development Center at Lorain County Community College. Eye opening and a little scary, however, I felt encouraged that I should proceed. 

A few years ago, right before a trip to visit my sister and her family for Thanksgiving, I sat down with Megan Gallagher from WKYC/Ch 3 to talk about my "new" business.  The interview takes place at the office of the Women's Business Center in Cleveland, and includes Director Nicole Liatos.

The segment is called Possible U.

Possibility U

Pat Bennett is the founder and President of Pat's Granola, a Cleveland based food company. Pat's Granola is sold online at www.patsgranola.com and is also available at several Northeast Ohio businesses including:

Troubadour Coffee Roasters www.troubadourcoffeeroasters.com

Sports and Spine Physical Therapy www.sportspine.com

Local Flavors Shoppe www.localflavors.net

Rittman Orchards and Farm Market www.rittmanorchards.com

Cleveland Hopkins International Airport www.clevelandairport.com

Locle Box www.loclebox.com

Market Wagon Northeast Ohio www.marketwagon.com

Made Cleveland www.madecleveland.com

Mister Brisket www.misterbrisket.com

Nature's Oasis Lakewood www.naturesoasis.com

Happy Cows Group Share Happy Cows Group Share 

 

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published